Posted in art, tips & tutorials

Spread Your Colors with COLORLESS BLENDER

Hello my dear readers! I’m really glad that a lot of people, especially Filipinos, were reading my articles about COPIC MARKERS.

COPICS are a bit pricey and hard to find in the Philippines. Hence, when I first started using them, I struggled and almost regret buying my first 10 pieces. I was clueless on how flawlessly blend the colors using my limited number of Copics. I kept searching for tutorials, techniques, and ways to keep my wallet from being hungry.

After several hours of clicking and typing, I stumbled across an article about COLORLESS BLENDER.

This is the link.
https://imaginationinternationalinc.com/copic/inspire/how-to/create-a-mystical-mood-on-a-budget-with-copic-markers/

The tutorial showed how the “0” marker easily spreads out and perfectly mixes the colors together, making it cheaper and efficient. However, there’s a catch. It was not available in ARTMEDIA or GREATTOYSONLINE. (But that was waaaaaaaaaay back! I don’t know if they’re selling it right now.)

I didn’t have a COLORLESS BLENDER until I came and lived in Japan.

Even though I was broke, I still bought my very first “0” marker in Tokyu Hands. It felt like seeing my dream guy xD I was really happy to have it. When I finally settled in to my new home, I kept looking for the refill, since I use my COLORLESS BLENDER a lot! I found it in an art shop 25 mins (on foot) away from my house.

  • The refill cost about 1,500 yen and the “0” marker cost like any other copic sketch, which is about 300 yen (not including tax).

IMG_1608

IMG_1609

  • The colorless blender does not only make it easier for me to mix the colors, but it also helps me to achieve this “cloudy-watery-texture.”

IMG_1604

IMG_1605

  • It could also get rid of those unwanted colours outside your linear art. But, sometimes, it doesn’t really make them disappear, it only makes them SPREAD!!!!! So be careful!
  • Instead of refilling your marker, you could do a direct approach. Pour your refill in a cup (or something smaller than that) and use a brush to blend the copics.

This entry might not help those artists in the Philippines. On the other hand, I think if you guys request it to ARTMEDIA or GREATTOYSONLINE they might order it from their suppliers, knowing there is a market for it.

Write your comments or questions. I’ll try to reply to you guys as fast as I can! ^^

Author:

I love art and music! It's like air for me (:

Leave a Reply

