Posted in art, tips & tutorials

Toning my Sketches

I know it’s been a long time since I wrote in my blog, especially, a follow up to my DELETER entry, but here I am again writing some gibberish that could help you guys out.

Anyways, this is an article about how I used my DELETER SCREEN TONES.

I don’t REALLY tone my artworks because first, Screen tones and other materials for doing this activity are a bit pricy, especially when you are in the Philippines. Second, I’m still a newbie in toning; hence, I’m afraid of ruining my pieces.

However, practice is the only way to solve this dilemma, so, I just toned some of my artworks and I decided to share the process of TONING MY SKETCHES.

1

***

MATERIALS:

Screentones (which I bought online at http://deleter-mangashop.com/)

2

Tonehera (which I bought online at http://deleter-mangashop.com/)

20140222_153322

Eraser that has a rough texture ( just bought at my local stationary store)

20140222_161752

Cutting Mat ( just bought at my local stationary store)

Cutter

Brush

***

First, I put my sketch on top of the cutting mat. I then removed the screen tone from its non-stick paper and placed it on top of my draft.

20140222_153159

20140222_153141

I used the SE-53 tone.

3

 NOTE, once you already put the screen tone on your sketch, you need to cut it fast or else you’ll have a hard time removing the excess tone.

I just used an ordinary cutter, so, it was a bit tricky. I suggest you buy a proper cutter that you can hold like a pencil. Once you are done cutting, carefully remove the screen tone you don’t need. Use your brush to remove the tiny pieces instead of just using your bare hands to avoid ruining your work.

20140222_161947

When you are finished cleaning up your mess, smooth the surface by using the TONE HERA.

20140222_162017

As you can see, you could visibly notice the screen tone, in the black part of my work; hence, I finally utilized my eraser to even out the color. This part was a bit scary because I thought I was going to scratch my piece, but thankfully, IT WAS SAFE! But guys, still, be careful.

20140222_161638

Here are some of my works where I used some screen tones. If you like my work, please visit my instagram page (http://instagram.com/lykishkeane/) and follow me! \(^^_)/

1794597_10200665869849378_969445024_n1911793_10200664870184387_715870149_n1947331_10200818407382721_258026063_n

Please comment if you have any questions or if you want to share your experience in using tones!

Author:

I love art and music! It's like air for me (:

4 thoughts on “Toning my Sketches

  1. Hi I just happened to pass by your blog and I found your drawings quite awesome 🙂 I was also researching about mangaka supplies and been browsing the deleter site maaaaan being in the philippines where these supplies arent available sucks so much. I just wanted to ask how the whole process of ordering there went and like did you have to pay for customs fees and such? Thanks and stay awesome ^^

    1. Sorry for the late reply! >_<

      Anyways, what I did was I made a PAYPAL account first. However, for you to have a PayPal account, you need to have a CREDIT CARD, which I don't have, so I just applied for a UnionBank EON card. It's an electronic debit card that u can use for paypal. So when I settled that, put money on my account, I ordered my supplies online.

      My bill was around 3500 pesos. When I got my package, I did not pay anything for the customs. My sister told me if your order is around that price, you don't have to.

  2. You order sakura microns in Artmedia? You can get them at National Bookstore. The only downside is that sometimes they don’t have the smaller nibs like the 005.

Leave a Reply

