Posted in diary, Lyrics & Translation/ Guitar Chords, music

Playlist: Songs of HOPE (きぼうのうた)

Music, just like drawing, is like air for me. The music, which I listen too, depends on my mood. When I’m feeling sad, I listen to mellow songs. When I want to feel refreshed, I listen to songs that make me relax. When creative ideas are just bursting out of my brains, I listen to experimental or artsy music.

Just like in the movie “What’s Your Number?” Anna Faris’ character said, “Looking at somebody’s playlist is like reading their diary.” The music that you listen to pretty much describes what kind of person you are.

I’m a person who usually looks at the bright side. Even when everything is turning sour, I want to be optimistic as much as possible, because being negative just makes everything worse, and it could also make you look ugly. xD So today, I will give you the songs which I usually listen to whenever I need a bit of hope or encouragement.

I hope you guys like this list. This is in random order.

***

Glamorous Sky

By: Mika Nakashima

Okay this song has a version from Vamps and also from Girugasmesh. However, I love Mika-san’s version because I just love her voice and I could easily sing along with it.

“Ano yume wo narabete, futari aruita GLAMOROUS DAYS,” according to lyricsmania , it means

“In order to be in line for our dreams, we walk in these GLAMOROUS DAYS,” in English. This is actually my favorite line from this song.

***

Solanin

By: Asian Kung-Fu Generation

Some of you, who have heard this song and read its lyrics, might say “it’s a break-up song.” Well, at first glance it might seem a song for an ex-lover; however, upon watching and reading the manga, Solanin, my opinion changed. It’s actually a song about saying goodbye to your ‘old you’ and how to survive without relying to your past self.

***

Beat It

By: FT Island

A Japanese song sang by a Korean band. I just love their Japanese songs because it has a more ‘rock feeling’ compared to their Korean songs. Anyways, this song has an upbeat melody that makes you want to jump up and down and sing its liberating lyrics.

“Nanimo osorezuni (Just Fly away)” or “Without fearing anything, just FLY AWAY,” in English. I love that line and I love singing this part, “I’m really FLYING.”

***

Fly

By: Jealkb

This is another song with ‘FLY’ in its lyrics. xD I feel like I’m running whenever I listen to this song, and its smooth rhythm feels uplifting that makes you think that it’s okay to chase your dreams.

“You’ve got to SPREAD your wings and look for the wind. You should, one day, ASK for a MIRACLE”

***

Leaving So Soon

By: Keane

I’ve experienced a lot discouragement from different kinds of people, even my family and friends, sometimes, don’t have faith in me. I constantly, always, need to work hard just to prove that I could do something. There are times that your patience bubble is crying to be blown up to pieces; however, you need to keep your cool because when you are too emotional, you get irrational.

Hence, I usually sing this song  when I’m not in the mood to be kind. I sing it as if I’m singing to the person who is trying to pull me down.

***

Huwag ka nang Umiyak

By: Sugarfree

Sugarfree is one of my favorite OPM bands, sadly they already disbanded.

Whenever I hear this song while I’m feeling down, I feel like this song is telling me, “Everything will be fine. You have someone to hold onto.” Then, a flashback will come rushing to my brain, memories of the times my friends and family have supported me.

By the way, ‘Huwag ka nang Umiyak,’ means ‘Don’t Cry Anymore.’ It’s a song about giving someone an assurance that you are by their side no matter what happens.

***

Umaaraw, Umuulan

By: Rivermaya

This is the first song of Rivermaya that I liked. I really like the Rico Blanco era and I miss it. When Rico left, Rivermaya wasn’t Rivermaya anymore.

Alright, let’s go back to our main purpose!

                When I first listened to this song, I was really depressed, and hearing its lyrics just made me cry. It really hit me and it made me pull myself together.

I don’t know if it’s the correct translation but ‘Umaaraw, Umuulan’ means ‘Shinning, Raining.’  I’m not really good at translating Tagalog into English. xD However, I will try to translate the whole lyrics because it’s very special to me.

“Umaaraw Umuulan”

Hindi mo maintindihan  (You don’t understand)

Kung ba’t ikaw ang napapagtripan  (Why you’re the one )

Ng halik ng kamalasan  (Kissed by bad luck)

Ginapang mong marahan ang hagdanan (You crawled slowly the stairs)

Para lamang makidlatan  (Just to get hit by lightning)

Sa kaitaas-taasan, ngunit  (At the top, but)
Kaibigan  (Friend)

Huwag kang magpapasindak  (Don’t be afraid)
Kaibigan,  (Friend)

Easy lang sa iyak  (Don’t cry too much  or Take it easy when you cry)

Dahil wala ring mangyayari (Nothing is going to happen)

Tayo’y walang mapapala (We won’t get anything)

Wag mong pigilan ang pagbuhos ng ulan  (Don’t stop the rain from pouring)

May panahon para maging hari (There is a time to be a king)

May panahon para madapa (There is a time to fall)

Dahil ang buhay natin ay sadyang ganyan  (Because our life is just like that)

Umaaraw, umuulan  (Shinning, Raining)

Ang buhay ay sadyang ganyan  (Our life is just like that)

Umaaraw, umuulan (Shinning, Raining)

Wag kang maawa sa iyong sarili  (Don’t feel sorry for yourself)

Isipin na wala ka nang silbi (Thinking that you are worthless)

San’ dambuhalang kalokohan  (It’s such a big bullcrap)

Bukas sisikat ding muli ang araw  (Tomorrow the sun will shine again)

Ngunit para lang sa may tiyagang  (But only for the ones who are patient)

Maghintay (to wait)

Kaibigan,  (Friend)

Wag kang magpapatalo  (Don’t let yourself lose)

Kaibigan, (Friend)

Itaas ang noo (Hold your head up high)

***

Music really takes away my stress. How about you? What songs do you listen to in order to describe your current mood?

Author:

I love art and music! It's like air for me (:

Leave a Reply

