Posted in art

TRADITIONAL or DIGITAL?

When I started getting serious with my illustrations I tried experimenting with various techniques and materials. Finding the perfect materials that will suit my style was very challenging and fun!

First I started with just an ordinary sketch pad and pencil. I scanned my works so I can be able to publish it in deviantart.com. However, I still want to explore more and develop my skills so I started inking and coloring my work using Photoshop. I used “unipin pigment ink pen” in inking my work.

The challenging part at that time was “How to Get a Clean Canvass”. When I scan my work it still captures the “dirty marks” (parts where I had erased my mistakes) on my sketches. So I needed to patiently clean it up using Photoshop. After cleaning it up I colored it in. I watch few Youtube tutorials on how to color scan drawings using photoshop. My scanner and photoshop were my best friends at that time. ^^ I used that process for a long time until I was encouraged by my co-worker to buy a “tablet”.

Here is my illustration using pencil:

Image

Here is my illustration, using  Photoshop to color my line drawing:

Image

When I was able to save enough money, I bought a WACOM BAMBOO pen and touch. At first it was very difficult I even thought that maybe I had wasted my money and it’s better for me to use my “old technique”.  I had tried 3 different drawing programs at that time.

First I used Photoshop, then MANGA STUDIO and last was PAINT TOOL SAI. Paint Tool SAI was the program that was the easiest to utilize for me. I still use Photoshop and Manga Studio for finishing touches though.  After 3 hours of practicing I was able to LOVE using my tablet! ^^

Here is my illustration, using  Paint Too, Sai :

Image

How I love my tablet! But an unexpected event happened. MY COMPUTER BROKE DOWN! All of my illustrations were GONE! Thank goodness I uploaded some in devianart! I couldn’t use my WACOM anymore! I couldn’t stand not being able to draw so I went back to my traditional roots. I went back to inking.

It was a HORRIBLE experience because it cost me soooo much! But it was also a “Blessing” in disguise, I guess. Because of that, I was able to improve my skills in inking and I was amazed with it! I love using pigment pens but from time to time we still had a love hate relationship xD

Here is my illustration, using  Pigment Pens:

Image

I still miss using my WACOM so always I brought my Wacom at work! 😛

Whenever I had free time I will draw something at the office xD People at the office didn’t mind it. They also like watching me draw which was a bit embarrassing >.<

When my computer was finally fixed I immediately use my WACOM but I still want to draw in a traditional way. I both love traditional and digital art! There are some things that I can’t express well using Digital Art which I can only convey using Traditional Art and vice versa.

How about you guys? Which one do you prefer? Traditional or Digital?

http://lykishkeane.deviantart.com/

Thank you for reading please visit my deviantart site if you have time! Have a nice day!

Author:

I love art and music! It's like air for me (:

3 thoughts on “TRADITIONAL or DIGITAL?

  1. I like your style, it’s different. Just like you, I have tried different techniques…and I’m currently inking with Corel Painter, but I definitely prefer the traditional way.

  2. thank u! I really want to have my own style so when people see my drawing they will immediately know it’s mine ^_^
    wow! Corel?!! I had difficulty using Corel >< I also like inking in the traditional way because you become more sensitive and your skills are greatly being develop…(:

Leave a Reply

